Personal Training by Jenn

I’m NOT a Morning Person

Posted on: April 29, 2014

As a trainer I would talk to my clients about being realistic with setting goals. I encouraged them to examine truths about themselves that may prevent them from achieving goals. One of my favorite examples to use was the fact I am not a morning person so I purposely avoid setting exercise goals for early morning workouts to avoid failure and disappointment.

Now that I’m working my hatred for mornings is going to have to take a back seat. I feel rushed every night to try and spend time with the kiddos, run errands, make dinner, do laundry, teach classes and still get to the gym for my personal workouts. Don’t get me wrong, I’m fortunate enough to have a supportive family who all pitches in around the house, but as many of us know, there can be more to do than the hours in the day will allow.

So this morning I set 3 alarms: two on my phone and one on my FitBit. My phone and FitBit both went off as scheduled at 5:00am. I silenced both alarms and pulled the covers up a little higher, all while battling with myself about the good reasons to get up and the ‘good’ excuses to stay in bed. Five minutes later my second alarm went off on my phone and the good reasons won over the ‘good’ excuses. 

Half awake, brushing my teeth, I decided my pajama sweats were good enough for the gym. I then tiptoed past our bed and looked on my sleeping husband thinking, ‘He said he was going to the gym this morning too. If he’s not getting up, maybe I should just lay back down too.’ Despite the temptation to reset my alarm and get back in bed, I swapped out my top, threw in a ponytail and searched for my gym shoes.

I couldn’t help but notice I was about the only car on the road as I headed to the gym. My thoughts returned to my husband and I wondered if he had since rose and headed to the gym as well. While still thinking fondly of my warm bed, I pulled into the lot at Patriot Boxing and I realized I wasn’t the only crazy one – there were at least 4 cars there and more following behind me.

Groggigly I explained that I had forgot my card and entered the gym. A number of the women clearly already knew each other and were chatting and laughing. Who in the world is this happy to work out at 530am?! Instead of joining in the chatter looked to my phone to check in for my Gym Pact. Now it’s not my intention to be unfriendly, but let me remind you how much I despise mornings. I thought I’d be better off saving my conversations for the cool down.

Before I knew it we were running laps for a warm-up and the groggy feeling started to lift. My steps got a bit lighter, my pace got a bit faster and before I knew it the warm-up was over and the true workout began. I’ll admit, there were a couple times throughout the workout I checked the clock and wondered what in the world was a non-morning person doing at the gym so early. But as I worked to catch my breath and the sweat rolled off me, I couldn’t help but think this was a pretty good way to start my day. 

My early morning boot camp helped me to:

  • Complete a solid hour of cardio and resistance training
  • Achieve over 4,500 steps before 7 am
  • Work the grumpy out
  • Regain an hour and a half of my evening (the time normally spent working out and driving to and from the gym)

But most importantly, early morning boot camp made me realize that not being a morning person isn’t a truth anymore, it’s now an excuse. It’s an excuse that is no longer going to stand in the way of me achieving my health and fitness goals. Early morning workouts are going to become the norm, and rather than being the grumpy lady looking at my phone, I’m going to engage in the pre-workout conversation and laughter. 

Do you have any ‘truths’ that may simply be excuses holding you back from achieving your goals?

Image

4 Responses to "I’m NOT a Morning Person"

Awesome post but I’m still not going to wake you up in the morning.

I would agree – it is still advisable not to wake the sleeping mama bear!

I so needed to read this! I despise mornings as well. Well let me rephrase that. I actually love mornings. The quiet calm start of the day, the early sunrise, chill in the air, etc. what I hate is being comfy in a nice warm bed and having to face the day at (GASP) some ungodly hour of the morning! Apparently, my love for my bed far exceeds my love for mornings!

I was recently thinking of getting up early in the near future. By this I mean considering a 5am class. For one, I get it out of the way early and don’t have to worry about it. Secondly….I can continue to work on fitness goals!

Sadly, then I think of the negatives. Having to parent my children else I can barely keep my eyes open later in the day. Since I have little ones I can rarely nap.

I also think of the excuses. My kids still, yes if said STILL, get up during the night waking me. MORE than once a night! If I decided to get up at 5 they would know! Then they would get up at 5!

I wish there was a pill to make me a morning person!

Good for you getting out there while it’s still dark and 98% of the world is still asleep! You should be very proud!

Kim it is definitely much more challenging when you have little ones – there is no doubt about that! I’m easing into it…starting with two days a week of 530 BootCamp. I’ll increase the number of early morning workouts as I adjust to the new schedule. I can say without a doubt I was ready for bed last night!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

