Not Enough Time

How many times have you used “not enough time” as an excuse for not working out?

Don’t get me wrong. I’m guilty of using that excuse myself. But the thing we all need to remember is that even if you just have 10 minutes, that’s better than skipping it all together.

For some reason most people have it in their head that a workout has to be 30 – 60 minutes to make any difference. The fact is ANY amount of time you can dedicate to improving your strength, cardio health and flexibility is not wasted.

Now that I am working more hours there are days I find it hard to carve out the amount of time I used to be able to dedicate to working out.

Instead of giving up on my program all together I am learning how to adapt it. Two of my busiest days during the week I go to Pilates at lunch and then eat at my desk afterwards. It makes sure I get in my workout and I’d be taking that hour off anyway.

Last night I didn’t have much time or energy but instead of totally blowing off my workout I did 20 minutes on the treadmill. Tonight I have a lot more energy and a little more time so my workout will include some circuit training.

I want you to be encouraged to use any amount of time you have to give back to yourself in exercise. If it takes moving a tv in front of a treadmill or stationary bike so that you can still watch your favorite show and get in a workout, then do it!

Don’t let time be your excuse for not working out. It could be the time you spend working out that will actually be what keeps you healthy and mobile as time goes on.

Leave a Reply

