Pick One

So how many of you made a New Year’s Resolution to lose weight or get in shape? How are you doing 3 days in? Starting to feel overwhelmed? Craving something sweet or feeling unmotivated to get in a workout today?

I’d like to suggest that rather than trying to change everything at once you pick one thing and focus on making that your initial success.

Think about it…how manageable does this sound if you haven’t already been focused on healthy eating and physical fitness?
• Cut out all sweets
• Stop drinking soda
• No fast food
• No fried foods
• Eat more vegetables and fruits
• Wake up early and exercise for 60 minutes 6 days a week
• Drink 8 glasses of water
• Talk a walk after work
• Get to bed every night by 10:00
• Eat breakfast
• Keep a food and exercise journal

We all know that this list could go on and on.

I find that creating little victories, makes it much easier to put in the work for the more challenging and long-term commitments. So maybe the first step should be to select one item from you list and focus on succeeding with a that life change for two weeks. Once you have successfully made that change, tackle another item.

We don’t gain weight and lose our physical fitness over night – it’s time that we stop demanding our minds and our bodies to make a long list of radical changes over night.

Sustained weight loss and improved physical fitness is achieved over time. Make a plan and give yourself some time to be successful in making the necessary changes.

15 thoughts on “Pick One

  1. Great post! I never make New Year’s resolutions, but I’ve gained 20+ pounds since moving back to the Midwest so, this year, I made two:

    * “Guns & Guts”
    * Getting back into Aikido

  2. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who automatically knows what they’re talking about on the internet. You as a matter of fact know how to bring an issue to light and make it absorbing. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  3. Very first, I’d prefer to thank you for this enlightening post. Secondly, I’d prefer to question wherever I can discover a lot more info concerning your post. I arrived right here via Bing and can’t discover any other related web websites on this subject. Just how do I subscibe for your weblog? I’d prefer to adhere to your updates as they arrive along! I had a query to question but I forgot what it absolutely was… anyways, I give my thanks to you!

    • Thank you very much for your compliment. This post is generated from my personal blog. I am a personal trainer and use the blog as a way to educate others on health and fitness. I encourage you to subscribe to it.

  4. Very well written despite the complexity of the subject, you should write more often. Your penning manner is pleasing and the way you managed the subject with grace is worth taking notice.

  5. Pingback: Pick One — Jenn Schindler Personal Trainer | The Healthier Me

Leave a Reply

