Are You Who You Want to Be?

Today I’d just like to share a bit of my story with you. It doesn’t necessarily have anything to do with inspiring you for greater health or fitness, but it might give you a little better understanding of who I am and why I do what I do.

I think if you are going to find true happiness in life it’s important to take the time to think about three things:

  • Where have you been?
  • Where are you now?
  • Where do you want to be?

Where Have I Been?

I’ve been part of corporate America. I’ve had my head bitten off and had my legs knocked out from under me. Sadly, I recall a few times that I was the biter and the one knocking someone else down. In the end, a traditional career left me scratching and scraping for more, all the while feeling like I wasn’t good enough to achieve the success everyone expected of me.

Frankly, I never really liked myself all that much in that environment and I’m pretty sure I wasn’t that much fun to work with. I allowed my seriousness and drive to overtake my ability to form relationships with others. That same seriousness and drive put the health of our family at risk.

Where Am I Now?

I’m walking a fine line of balancing a “traditional” desk job with my passion for fitness and personal training. While it’s certainly not as cut-throat as agency life, there’s something about sitting behind a desk that makes me restless and leaves me questioning if what I’ve done has made any difference in the world.

Please don’t misunderstand me, it’s not about whether your job is behind or desk or not, or whether you make minimum wage or a fat salary – it’s about PASSION. If you have passion and drive for what you do then I assure you that you ARE making a difference.

On the other hand when I walk out of a training session or spend time in a fitness class I feel a surge of energy. It’s hard to put into words but my mood instantly improves and I genuinely have a smile of my face.

There’s just something about helping someone achieve a new fitness goal or seeing their face when they accomplish an exercise they are certain they won’t be able to perform let alone finish an entire set.

Not to mention the unique relationships I am able to build with clients from all different walks of life. From friends, to students, to faculty to retirees, each of them teaches me something about life and myself as I take the time to teach them about striving for their goals.

Where Do I Want To Be?

Bottom line…I want to live a life of passion.

So for those who ask, “Why training?”

It’s because I make a difference that I can see. Life’s short and for me a career is more about the lives I impact than the dollars I make or titles I hold.

“This is your life. Are you who you want to be?” – Switchfoot

3 thoughts on “Are You Who You Want to Be?

  1. Well said, very few people are good at jobs they aren’t passion about. And a job without passion can really drain you – and drain everything you are passion about.

    Do what you love, love what you do.

  2. I love the fact that you bring the discussion back to being passionate about something and not the dollars and cents. I used to live by the Deion Sanders creed of “If it don’t make dollars, it don’t make sense”, but I have since learned how much I may have missed.

    My only child is now grown (19yrs.), and I have 2 pre-teen step sons. When Shawn was young…so was I. I missed the football games, I missed the boy scouts, I missed everything that was important to him so that I could pursue what was important to me. With my perfectly focused hindsight I can now appreciate the folly of it all.

    Now, I go to all of the games. I coach, I teach, I listen and I never allow my “career” to enter in to my personal life. I am not labeled by what I do for a living. I do what I do so that I can afford to do what I love, with the ones that I love. When my work day drags I remember that its only a small part of my day. When I get home, I dust off my boots and I leave it right out there on the door step.

    I try each and every day to make up for the days that I missed. I take a day off from work when it becomes too much. I don’t take days off from my family anymore.

    I don’t believe any lifetime is defined by what you do for a living. You can make a difference anywhere you choose. When it’s over I hope people will say that I tried hard to be a Father, a Husband, a Brother or a friend. Those are the titles I most aspire to hold.

Leave a Reply

