Got the Winter Blues?

Much of our country has been blasted this winter with storms and for many that brings about cabin fever and a longing for warmer temps.

It wasn’t that long ago that I was plagued with the winter blues. The thought of winter and snow put me in a serious funk.

I’m thankful to say that last year I successfully traded my winter blues for rosy wind and sun kissed cheeks. Between learning to snowboard and ice skating and sledding with my kids I find myself watching the weather reports and hoping that the big snow hits us.

Snowboarding has come with its bumps and many bruises but for me there is nothing like breathing in crisp winter air and challenging my mind and body in completely new ways. It can be challenging to exercise outdoors in the winter and snowboarding has been the perfect answer for me.

It’s definitely taken time but you have to start somewhere. Last year I started the day out with about 3 extremely hard falls which left me fearful of taking another one so I spent the entire day “toeside” facing the top of the hill (compared to what Colorado has – believe me, it was just a hill!). I can’t imagine how ridiculous I looked to others but I was determined to stay out there.

With each time we went snowboarding things got a little easier, the falls were fewer and the soreness and bruising was definitely less. I’m happy to say a year later I have tackled turns and my fear of speed is slowly diminishing as well.

I share my snowboarding experience with you because I want you to be encouraged to get out and try something new. But if you’re hesitant to take on an outdoor challenge I encourage you to revisit an activity from your youth.

Our kiddos are finally old enough that an afternoon of sledding or ice skating are great family activities.

The girls and I all got ice skates for Christmas and have had some great times learning how to navigate on the ice. While I can’t say ice skating is a vigorous activity for the pace we move at, it’s a way to get active and build memories with my daughters.

While ice skating isn’t appealing to the boys they are masters at cutting paths for sledding and finding the fastest way to the bottom. Inevitably we end up with a few ramps on some of the paths to make it a little more exciting. The ride to the bottom of the hill is always full of smiles and laughter and the trek back to the top is a great workout in itself. If I’m looking for an extra challenge I take a run up the hill instead of just walking.

So if you’re feeling trapped and sluggish this winter I encourage you to get out and do something fun. It may not serve as a substitute for your workout but I can assure you that just getting active will help you to begin to shed the winter blues. It’s worked for me!

2 thoughts on “Got the Winter Blues?

Leave a Reply

