Training For a Higher Cause

Is one of your goals this year to lace up a pair of running shoes and finish a race? If so, I first want to congratulate you on making a goal for yourself.

If you are new to running, or don’t especially care for it, you are going to need to find a way to remain motivated.

Last year I set out to run my first marathon. I knew that there was no way I would complete 26.2 miles unless I had a higher cause to run for. Even though my training season wasn’t ideal, I was still determined to start AND finish my marathon because I had committed to running for Solemates, an organization that benefits the non-profit group Girls on the Run.

There are several programs available to help you reach your goals and raise money for a good cause. I’m going to highlight two, however, do some research in your area and you may find a local cause that inspires you to get running.

Soulmates

This is of course a cause that is near and dear to my heart. Girls on the Run is an experiential afterschool program that prepares girls for a lifetime of self-respect and healthy living. Through the 12-week program girls participate in interactive activities such as running, playing games and discussing important issues empowering them to develop a greater sense of self-awareness, a foundation in team building and a sense of achievement.

To be a Solemate you are required to raise $262.

For more information on the program or to become a Solemate check out their website.

Team in Training

The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Team In Training program is designed to help you train for a half or full marathon while raising money for cancer research. The great part about this program is that you are paired with an actual team to train for weekly runs so helps to keep motivation high. You can also choose a destination run.

The amount of money you are required to raise is dependent on the venue you choose to run.

For more information on Team in Training or to sign up check out their website.

As part of my motivation for my half marathon this coming June I am once again running as a Solemate for Girls on the Run. If you are interested in making a donation I encourage you to check out my page.

Now get those shoes on and get running!

Leave a comment