A Week of Reminders

So after a summer of sporadic workouts and more unhealthy meals than healthy ones, I spent the past week getting back to the ‘old me.’ The me who chooses to run or walk to the gym rather than driving, the me who looks past the diet coke and refills her water bottle, the me who would rather sweat from a workout than sitting in the sun, the me who chose a salad over pizza for lunch.

Was it easy? I’m not going to lie…at times it was pretty difficult. But was it worth it? Without a doubt!

Let me share with you some of the things I was reminded of this week…

Monday

I was reminded of:

  • How nice it was to have the kiddos back in school and the time to get to the gym.
  • How silly I think I look when I kickbox.
  • How exhausted my legs can get from a series of squats against a wall with an exercise ball.
  • How important it is to fuel after a tough workout.

Tuesday

I was reminded of:

  • How difficult it is to run in the sweltering heat.
  • How much I missed Pilates, and how much my core strength has depleted since I stopped. 
  • How effective exercise can be in reducing stress.
  • How it is possible to resist over-eating even when attending a shrimp boil with friends.

Wednesday

I was reminded of:

  • How much progress I had lost in both endurance and strength.
  • How much I hate spin class but how it is a great cardio workout.
  • How sore muscles can get and how good soaking in an Epsom salt bath can feel.
  • How important it is to accompany your spouse to the gym (even if it’s only to walk while they workout).
  • How much better I sleep when I exercise.

Thursday

I was reminded of:

  • How important it is to take a day of rest.
  • How hard it is to choose a salad over pizza for lunch.
  • How important it is to walk to a destination if possible.

Friday

I was reminded of:

  • How important it is to still workout even when you are on vacation.
  • How hard it is to stick to speed work on the dreadmill, oh, I mean treadmill but how good it feels to stick to my workout plan.
  • How much of an appetite can be worked up after doing said speed work on the treadmill.

Saturday

I was reminded of:

  • How good it feels to kick the weekend off with a morning workout.
  • How much I appreciated making and extra large salad the night before so I could easily fill my bowl for lunch.
  • How important it is to set weekly goals and stick to them.
  • How good it feels to follow through and accomplish goals.
  • How good it feels to see the numbers go down on the scale.

I was reminded of a lot of great things this week. But most of all I was reminded of how good it feels to be getting back to the ‘old me,’ the healthier me, the stronger me, the happier me.

Image

Leave a Reply

