Water Recipes

By the looks of my green smoothie I think it’s safe to assume I’m willing to give any healthy beverage a try.

Image

But to be totally honest, my first day drinking a green smoothie I literally gagged it down. I think it took me over two hours to drink it and eventually I just forced it down. I stuck with it for 3 days to complete my detox plan and by the end of those 3 days I had come to really like them. Now I drink green smoothies 3 – 5 days a week.

So when I saw a recipe for a ‘fat flushing water’ on FaceBook I was willing to give it a try. Now mind you, I like all the ingredients so of course they should taste great in water, right? 

  • Grapefruit
  • Tangerine
  • Cucumber and
  • Peppermint

WRONG. 

Granted the recipe stated the longer the ingredients sat the better the water would be. So I blamed the first pitcher on the fact I hadn’t let the water sit long enough. So I made second pitcher and let it sit overnight. Let’s just say the water didn’t age well. I didn’t make it even 24 hours into the 10-day challenge.

This was one recipe I just could’t gag down and try to acquire a taste for.

But I’m not writing this to discourage anyone from trying the ‘fat flushing water’ or any other healthy water recipe. Rather, I want to take a look at the root of these water recipes and how we can tune into our personal preferences to increase our water intake. 

The major success of any of these recipes is that you are hydrating with water! In an age where we can choose anything from coffee to energy drinks, from milk to soda, it’s no wonder we are consuming less and less water in its purest form.

Let’s face it, water tastes pretty darn plain compared to our other options. And even though water may be the main ingredient for some of our beverages of choice, we are consuming a great deal of empty calories and/or artificial sweeteners and dyes as well. Cutting out these unnecessary additives is an excellent way to manage calorie consumption and work towards a more clean diet.

If you find regular old water boring you are going to find it extremely difficult to consume 50% of your body weight in ounces of water every day.

So why not seek out ‘healthy water recipes’ with natural ingredients that give it the kick you are looking for? There are a number of water recipes based on natural ingredients to meet your personal preferences. I really like Sassy Water published in the Flat Belly Diet, but for someone who isn’t a fan of lemon or ginger this water would be a total turn off. The key is to find one that works for you.

What I hope you take away from this blog is that:

  • Water doesn’t have to be boring – find natural additives that make it more tasty for you
  • Staying hydrated is key to health and weight loss – drink at least 50% of your body weight in ounces every day

Image

 

Leave a Reply

