No Such Thing as a ‘Good’ Excuse

Ever skipped out on your workout because you had a ‘good’ excuse?

I’ve learned that for me there’s no such thing as a ‘good’ excuse. I need routine and momentum to keep me on track for my goals. Missing just one planned workout day can completely derail me and my focus. Every day I make an excuse it gets easier and easier to tell myself, “Tomorrow.”

I’ve had a ton of ‘good’ excuses over the years:

  • It’s an extremely busy time at work
  • The kids have been sick and I don’t want to wear myself down
  • We have guests coming this weekend that I need to prepare for
  • I’m too sore from my previous workout
  • I’ll get back to a routine once we move

On any given day every single one of us can think of a ‘good’ excuse for not exercising. But it’s those good excuses that ultimately result in lost strength and endurance and often weight gain.

Skipping just one day, even if it is a ‘good excuse,’ can totally derail my progress. Not only do I lose progress in strength and endurance, I lose motivation to make the right food choices. When I’m physically active I desire to fuel with good nutritious foods, when I’m lazy and inactive, nothing sounds better than pizza or a cheeseburger.

When I’m committed to my routine, ‘Tomorrow’ means no excuses, trying harder and accomplishing more. When I let ‘good’ excuses’ take over ‘Tomorrow’ means facing the reality of how ‘bad’ those ‘good’ excuses were for me.

Now don’t get me wrong, I get there are days where schedules are packed. Whether it be work or duties at home there are going to be days where it is downright hard to find the time and to fight against the ‘good excuse.’ For those days I would challenge you to change up your routine. Maybe you don’t have time for an hour class at the gym, but you do have time for a 30 minute walk at lunch. Maybe you don’t have time to hit the gym to lift weights, so you take 20 minutes to do push-ups, sit ups, planks, jumping jacks, high knees, and squats in your basement.

What I hope you take away from my blog today

  • Don’t let ‘good excuses’ get in your way of reaching your goals
  • There’s no such thing as a ‘good excuse’
  • Something is always better than nothing when it comes to exercise

Image

Leave a Reply

