Goals for 2014

Let’s be honest, New Year’s Resolutions are all about our goals for the year. Yes, they are about change but they are more about what we hope to accomplish in the coming year and a reflection of what we didn’t accomplish in the previous year.

For the first time in my adult life my New Year’s Resolutions aren’t starting with “I am going to lose x pounds.” I’m completely done with defining myself by the number on the scale. Beginning now I’m defining myself by the choices I make to improve my health and athletic abilities. 

Every health and fitness book I’ve read suggests writing out your goals. I never used to believe that writing down goals really mattered. It actually makes all the difference for me. Goals ‘unwritten’ result in goals unachieved for me. Writing them down makes them real and makes me accountable to them.

So this year I am sharing my Resolutions with you so that they are not only real to me but that I am accountable to you to follow through. I’m also limiting myself to 3 goals/resolutions. Any more than that and I’m sure I’ll be overwhelmed and more likely to fail in achieving them. So I’m starting with 3 on 1/1/2014. Come 2/1/2014, I’ll take some time and re-evaluate my progress. It might require some modifications, it might require some changes, it might require me to take a long look in the mirror and tell myself to ‘STEP IT UP.’ Either way, 2014 is going to be about healthy choices and being honest with myself.

Here’s where I start:

1. Work out 5 times/week.

This means that I intentionally workout 5 days a week for ME. Starting tomorrow I’m back to teaching group fitness. Teaching a class does not count as a personal workout. When I teach or train it’s my job to make sure that my clients are getting the most of their workout – it’s not the time for me to get my exercise in for the day. One way that I am going to increase my accountability to this resolution is to download ‘Pact‘ and make my commitment to working out 5 days a week. If I don’t, not only do I let myself down but it’ll hit me in the pocketbook.

2. Run 30 minutes 3 times a week

I’m notorious for signing up for races and not properly training. I work out often enough that it hasn’t resulted in an injury but I’ve yet to really achieve any of my personal goals for my runs either. That changes in 2014. From now on I am going to be fully prepared for my races and that starts with the goal of 30 minutes, 3 times a week. As the months go by I hope the time and frequency increases but at minimum this is my goal. I’m going to keep myself accountable by setting goals and tracking my progress on Runkeeper. If you are looking to start running or increase yoru current weekly mileage I highly recommend checking this app out.

3. Achieve 10,000 steps 6 days a week

I’m no longer delusional enough to think that I’m going to be on my game 7 days a week. Everyone needs and should have a day of rest. But during my ‘on’ days I want to make sure that I am really moving. My Fitbit Flex is going to be my best friend in keeping track of my steps.

If you need help setting your own goals I recommend you take a look at some of my previous blog posts:

Here’s what I hope you take away from my blog today:

  • Don’t try and tackle all your hoped changes at once – pick 3 to spend 30 days on and make adjustments and changes at the 1st of every month
  • Failing to achieve a goal or change doesn’t mean you should give it – it just means you need to either modify your goal, give yourself more time or work harder
  • Change is possible – it just takes time and commitment

Image

Leave a Reply

