I’m Just Like You

One of the things that I think makes me different from other personal trainers is that I have three children and my professional life hasn’t always been centered on health and fitness. I’ve spent years sitting behind a desk, gaining and losing pounds, celebrating losses and hating myself for the gains, and achieving fitness milestones just to lose it all.

I know what it means to work hard and hit a plateau, I know how hard it can be to try and get a workout in when the laundry is piled up, when there are no real plans for dinner and the house is a terrible mess and add on one or more children screaming at the top of their lungs!

All of those things make me think I can identify with women in a real way. I’m not an elite althete, I’m not going to scream at you and I’m not going to pressure you to give up the things that mean the most to you just to just to shed some pounds and build lean muscles.

But being a wife, mom, daughter and friend are more important to me than anything and I think most women would agree with that. So when it comes to personal training I take all of those things into consideration. No program can be successful if it doesn’t match the needs and lifestyle of the person.

Women often put ourselves on the back burner to make sure everyone else is happy. We’d do just about anything and drop everything at a moments notice if we knew it would make our spouse, children, parents or friends happy.

I recently gave up a secured income to follow my passion to help others achieve health and fitness. Part of me felt like I was nuts – who gives up a guarnteed paycheck? But the other part of me felt so alive knowing that I was reaching for a dream that not only filled me but gave me the opportunity to help others.

This change is scary. It’s going to take me out of every comfort zone I have. But I realize how happy I am connecting with people in a fitness setting. I realize how energized I am thinking about changed lives. I realize that I don’t have to be perfect – I’m a wife, mom, daughter and friend just most other women out there who are trying to do it all and make it work and my job is to train, inspire and encourage.

I’m excited about the path ahead of me. I’m sure there will be some ‘stumps’ in the way, I’m sure there may be some forks in the road, and without a doubt there are going to be times that I won’t know what to do with the stumps or the forks, but what I do know is I’m following my passion. My life has been changed and I know I can help others achieve change too.

We only get one time around – today is the day to make the most of it.

Give me a call 574-387-1344 or drop me an email at jenn.customfitpt.com and let’s talk about how I can help you to make the most of your one time around.

Leave a Reply

