Top 5 Things to Look For in a Gym

Time and money are people’s biggest excuses for not exercising. I can’t multiply your time. Believe me, wish I could multiply my own time. But what I can do is advise you on how to best spend your hard earned dollars towards a quality gym membership.

5 Things to Look for in a Gym

Not all gyms are the same

1. Be known as a person not a membership number

There are plenty of big box gyms that have cheap memberships. Heck, I even have a $10/month membership to one of those gyms. But they don’t know me, they don’t care about my goals. They just flash me a smile as I walk in and make sure I swipe my tag. I say look for a place that has a staff PLUS. Find a place where you are more than just a check-in number. The staff should know your name, they should care about your goals, they should inspire you to do more and celebrate your accomplishments with you.

2. Be comfortable enough to make friends

Everything is easier when you have someone to do it with. You might not be able to find a friend that can go to the gym at the same time as you, so join a gym where you feel comfortable making friends. We all have limitations in our schedules so workouts generally happen at the same time and days throughout the week. Find a place where you can make friends – it will make all the difference in keeping you going. Don’t believe me? Jason and Laura both have experienced growth through their gym memberships.

3. Be ready to explore your options

Not everyone wants cardio, not everyone wants Zumba, not everyone wants to know what Warrior 3 is. Find a gym that offers you variety and things that you enjoy doing and don’t be afraid to try something new. Working out doesn’t have to be boring and dreadful. If you find something you truly enjoy you will look forward to doing it! And you never truly know what you will like until you give it a try.

4. Be YOU

It’s so important that you find a gym where you are comfortable in your own skin. You shouldn’t feel like you have to fit a certain mold to be a member of a gym. The reason you are joining is to improve YOU, so don’t try and be anything that isn’t true to who you are.

5. Be committed

Plan your workouts and put them on your schedule. The membership can only work for you if you are willing to put in the time and effort to meet your commitments.


In writing this blog and reflecting on my home gym, CustomFit I’m so thankful to say that it is all of these things.

We take the time to learn about our members and it’s more than just knowing when to offer a modification for an exercise. It’s about asking about their families or work, or celebrating with them when something great happens or offering the extra encouragement when life is hard. When I say ‘CustomFit Family’ I truly mean it.

And it’s not just Julianne and I that care about the members. I’ve seen some great friendships blossom at the gym. Whether they were friends before becoming members or have met through their memberships, no workout is complete without a good amount of smiles and laughter. Everyone is encouraged to come as they are and be true to themselves. There is no need to pretend you’re someone you’re not at CustomFit.

Our schedule is set up to meet a variety of needs. Whether it’s BootCamp or PiYo, you’re certain to find a class that you enjoy and will look forward to attending each week.

If you’re looking for a gym, give CustomFit a try. The first class is always FREE so you have a chance to check it out with no obligation. Email me or give me a call for more information (574-387-1344).

One thought on “Top 5 Things to Look For in a Gym

Leave a Reply

