Fitness During Pregnancy

As a group fitness instructor and personal trainer I come across a people in various stages of life. Some are young, trying to figure out who they are personally and professionally, some are dealing with injuries and trying to stay fit while healing, some are more mature and have great perspective on life and fitness.

I have been so inspired by Colleen, she is a working mom with two young children and pregnant with her third. Throughout her pregnancy she has stayed committed to fitness and has met every workout with the same commitment as she did pre-pregnancy. I’m thankful today to be able to share her fitness story with you…


 

It's Possible to Stay FIT While Pregnant

It’s Possible to Stay FIT While Pregnant

by Colleen Kendrick Fairbanks

Jenn so kindly asked me to share my fitness story as a result of watching me exercise through my most recent pregnancy. Since the time of Jenn’s request, I’ve spent considerable time procrastinating and mulling over in my mind what exactly “My Fitness Story” means to me.

Here’s the deal. I don’t think I have a fitness story, because I don’t consider myself “fit.” A few of the many reasons that came to mind as I analyzed my difficulty in completing this task was that I’ve historically held very high standards for myself as well as I’ve lived with lifelong anxiety about proclaiming my strengths for fear of being called out by others on the contrary.  So, while I exercise regularly, I feel like I could be doing more. While I’ve made changes to my eating habits, I know that I could do more. I don’t have the physique of someone that others would determine as “fit” from just a visual assessment.  I know in my heart that I’ve made significant strides towards building a healthier lifestyle but I’m not sure I feel qualified enough to serve as a role model to others on how to live a fit life.

That’s not to say I’m a lost cause when it comes to building up my fitness related self-esteem. I’m a constant work in progress. When I get down on myself believing that I haven’t done enough, I stop and think about where I would be if I hadn’t made any of the changes I’ve implemented to strive towards a living a fitter life. Only now, as a result of being pregnant with my third child and seeing the difference in how my body has responded to carrying this baby and associated weight gain, as opposed to my other two pregnancies, am I now starting to slowly entertain the idea that I was at a pretty fit pre-pregnancy level.  I have no idea what it will take for me to feel fully confident in sharing my fitness achievements or when and if I won’t care about other’s opinions or assessments of me, but I do know that I will continue to exercise and work on providing my body with nourishing food because above all else, it makes me feel good.


 

Keep up the amazing work, Colleen – and that baby is DEFINITELY born to do burpees!!

Leave a Reply

