5 Ways to Make Sure You Include ‘Me’ Time in Your Back to School Schedule

As a mom of three it’s always a bit of a bummer to see summer come to a close. I’m reminded of the fun we had and of how quickly another year has passed.

And just when I start to feel a bit overwhelmed by the ‘routine’ of everything – making lunches, checking homework, organizing carpool schedules…I’m reminded of how much better our family functions when we are in a routine.

We eat better, we sleep better and we have less time for ‘excuses.’

For our family routine means that I plan for lunches and dinners more deliberately; bedtimes and waking times are consistent; and sticking to our schedules is crucial to keeping everyone on track with their commitments.

One major commitment of mine that gets off track during the summer is getting in my own workouts. Now I know what you might be thinking, “Why would you need an additional workout when teaching multiple classes a week?”

I need my own workouts because when I teach class I am doing just that – teaching. While I may be performing the same moves, I’m also monitoring my class participants. Are they using proper form? Do they look as though they are pushing too hard or maybe not hard enough? Should I lengthen or shorten the next cardio burst? You get the idea.

Over the summer it becomes a challenge for me to stay on my personal workout routine because most of my free time to attend classes or hit the gym on my own lands right in the middle of the day. Because my time is limited with the kiddos over the summer, I put those workouts aside to hit the beach or pool, take them mini golfing and go karting or to cuddle and watch a movie on a rainy day.

And though I use all of those excuses above to not hit the gym personally, I’m still fortunate enough that my job keeps me active and these ‘excuses’ don’t take me completely off track.

In conversations with others I know how difficult it is to find that ‘me’ time. The guilt can be a little overwhelming for some and ultimately prevents them from taking time for themselves.

Don't forget your 'me' time in your back to school schedule.

Don’t forget your ‘me’ time in your back to school schedule.

My encouragement for all of you as school gets ready to start is to consider where you can fit that ‘me’ time in your schedule. Just as it’s important to keep your children on their schedules, it’s important you make yourself a priority in the routine as well.

Here are some things you can do to make sure you get ‘me’ time of your own:

  1. Schedule it – just like a child’s sports practice, be intentional about scheduling your workouts.
  2. Don’t make excuses – you don’t let your child skip out on practice because they just don’t feel like it, don’t skip out on yourself.
  3. Plan – take the time to plan meals and carpools around your ‘me’ time. If it means a crockpot meal a couple nights a week, do it. If it means carpooling with a couple other families, do it.
  4. Find something you enjoy – whether it’s a class, personal training or working out on your own, find activities that you enjoy so you will be disappointed if you have to miss it. Check out our class schedule and sign up to try your first class FREE.
  5. Communicate with your family – express to your family how much ‘me’ time means to you, they love you and they will understand.

So rather than letting the end of summer and the beginning of a school routine get you down, get EXCITED to embrace the ‘me’ time that awaits you if you just take the time to embrace it.

 

Leave a Reply

