Kicked in the Shins and Thankful for It

It’s hard to believe it’s September and still this beautiful in Chicago! So before I share my thoughts for the day I want to acknowledge how grateful I am for the sunshine and warm temps.

While I appreciate the colors of fall, I love the non-stop activities of summer and want to take advantage of warm weather opportunities. But instead of running the Prairie Path, hitting the gym for a good hard personal workout, or hopping on my bike I find myself sitting with my feet propped up.

Not ideal activities for days like these.

And I’ll be honest, slowing down is something that bums me out. But slowing down also gives me that chance to evaluate what it means to be moving through life at full throttle. So here’s why I’m thankful for being kicked in the shins…

The pain was necessary for growth

The pain was necessary for growth

I recognize that I need to slow down.

After an action packed summer with no ‘true’ schedule, other than work, the Schindler’s need time to settle into the coming school year. It’s not possible to keep up with everything if I don’t slow down once in a while.

Even with a calendar on my phone, a written calendar on the fridge and reminders for just about everything, I am confusing dates, almost missing important birthday calls, and finding myself swimming in communication from the schools.

I am fortunate that my schedule allows me flexibility, and rather than constantly moving through those flexible hours, it’s time to slow down.

I recognize that my body needs the rest.

One thing I missed the most about the summer was my personal workouts. So once school started I jumped in with both feet. And in doing so, my activity levels skyrocketed and why I am sitting with my feet up…

I jumped in doing entirely too much too fast and as a result I’m stuck with shin splints.

It seems to be a lesson that I need to learn over and over, but once again, when I don’t have the sense to take the rest and healing time I need, my body forces me to.

I recognize how many people truly care.

From my husband helping to apply pressure to my sore muscles, to my mom who has been dealing with foot pain for months now and still asks me everyday how I am doing, to a friend offering help as a clinical massage therapist, to thoughtful friends near and far… I am thankful to all of you.

I’m also thankful to my clients and group fitness participants who also express their concern. It’s good to know they also see me as a person not just the one who puts them through their workouts.

I recognize that being bummed doesn’t mean it’s time to ‘eat’ my way back to health.

Some of you may have read my blog a few weeks ago, “3 Reasons Comfort Food Isn’t the Answer,” when I shared my horrible decision to over-indulge because I didn’t want to face my emotions.

I’m thankful to say that even though this week had me bummed out, I didn’t waiver from my healthy food choices. I know that drowning my feelings in sugar and fat will only leave me feeling worse physically and make me angry with myself about not putting this in proper perspective.

Healing comes from healthy eating. You can’t feed your body junk and expect to be strong and healthy.

And REALLY? It’s shin splints. Do they hurt, yea, will you get over them, YEA. Take the time and heal; get over yourself – be blessed knowing it’s such a small problem.

I recognized I ignore my online presence.

I enjoy teaching and training probably just as much as I enjoy writing my blog posts. When I get wrapped up in the physical aspect, I sometimes lose track of how important it is that I stay in touch online as well.

There are a number of people who read and comment and my lack of presence is potentially a lack in their motivation to make healthier decisions about their own life.


 

I’m slowly learning that life is about perspective. Instead of being bummed, I’m taking away an important lesson learned: the pain was necessary for my growth and totally worth it.

2 thoughts on “Kicked in the Shins and Thankful for It

  1. One way we treated shins was to fill paper cups with water, freeze them so you had a big ice cube with a paper handle and massage the shin. As it melted, peel back the paper and when I say massage, I mean press hard and don’t enjoy it. It hurts but takes the soreness and inflammation away.

Leave a Reply

