The Top 3 Reasons to Get Rid of Your Bathroom Scale

Towards the end of 2015 my husband took my scale away. He hid it from me. What used to be a prominent feature in our bathroom was gone.

I think he did this partially for his own sanity – he was tired of the same old conversation about the number that appeared each time I left the bathroom.

Day or night, anytime I walked in there I was compelled to step on the scale. Depending on what that number was it pretty much determined my mood for the rest of the day/night.

Top Three Reasons to Get Rid of Your Scale

Top Three Reasons to Get Rid of Your Scale

It’s been an adjustment not having my scale…but in the last few months I’ve learned quite a bit about myself and the type of trainer/motivator I want to be.

So here are the top 3 reasons why I don’t care what my scale says about me or my clients…

#1 Health isn’t determined by a number on the scale.

I used to be so frustrated by eating clean, getting in my workouts and not seeing the scale budge, or worse, go up.

For the most part, I choose broccoli over french fries, chicken over burgers, grilled over fried…you get the picture. Yet, more times than not, I’d step off the scale and feel like a failure. The display of that number would take away all of the positive feelings I had about my healthy choices.

I’m done with letting the scale take away how good I feel about making positive choices in my life.

#2 A number doesn’t reflect my dedication to healthy living.

Looking down and seeing a number I didn’t expect completely took the wind out of my sails. I’d question, why should I keep choosing broccoli and chicken to only see the scale stay the same and go up. Maybe next time I should give in and get the burger and fries.

Or what about the fact that I left everything I had at the gym – between teaching classes and my own workouts, I had not another thing to give and still the scale laughed at me.

So I’ve learned, that number only has the power to take away how hard I’ve worked towards a healthier life if I let it. And from now on I’m not going to let it. It’s a number. Just a number.

My dietary choices and my sweat prove that I am far above the number on a scale.

#3 My worth can’t be assigned to a number.

And lastly, why would I ever allow my love for myself tied to a number? Do I love my family and friends any more or less based on their number? Certainly not. I don’t care about their number. I care about their heart. I care about their well-being. I care about the time I get to spend with them.

So my worth can’t be a number – my worth is my heart, my worth is my well-being inside and out and my worth is the time I spend with others.

So as a trainer and group fitness instructor, I encourage you to not be intimidated by your scale. Rather, think about what healthy living means to you and live that out…all else will follow.

Later this week I’ll give you some positive ways to track your progress that aren’t based on your bathroom scale.

One thought on “The Top 3 Reasons to Get Rid of Your Bathroom Scale

  1. Pingback: Top 3 Ways to Replace your Bathroom Scale | Personal Training by Jenn

Leave a Reply

