The Real Reason There’s No Time For A Workout

Ever have a moment when you realize you’ve gotten so busy with work that you no longer have time for you?

I did. And it’s been a tough soul searching week.

I’ve heard from countless of people that they would love to exercise or eat better but they just don’t have time. I never quite ‘got’ that excuse.

After having three children I made up my mind that it was time to get healthy again and I did anything it took to make sure I exercised. Sometimes it was during naptime, sometimes it was sitting on a stationary bike in my living room while my husband and I watched tv, sometimes it was getting up at 5am before anyone was awake. It was important to me so I made the time.

And until about a year ago, I still made the time.

If you have time for an excuse you have time for a workout.

If you have time for an excuse you have time for a workout.

Then I made the decision to get back into fitness full time. Relatively new to Lombard, I felt like the only way to succeed was to network in any way possible.  So in my attempt to establish myself I jumped at the chance to teach any class, in any format, at any location. If I had an hour free, I was prepared to fill it. Before I knew it my schedule was packed and I felt accomplished in my growth.

And for a while that worked for me…until I realized that by always seeking to add new classes and saying yes to any sub request that fit my schedule I was cheating myself.

What might seem absurd to some of you that take my classes is that I also need a workout of my own. While I may ‘do’ the class with you, it’s not my workout and if I treated class that way I wouldn’t be a very good instructor to you.

I found myself in a place where I the person making the excuse of not having enough time.

Ugh…I had become that person…that person who didn’t have time. But I had time to catch up on my DVR, I had time to sift mindlessly through magazines, I had time to endlessly scroll through FaceBook. I had time to waste but I didn’t have time for ME.

Then last weekend my eyes opened. I was teaching at three different gyms. One is my home, it’s my family, my happy place – CustomFit. Another is a place that I fought to get a 6am class and over time it has grown and I can’t imagine ever letting those women down – Glass Courts. And the last was a big box gym, where it was clear that both employees and members are nothing more than a number.

I had two places that I have a heartfelt connection to, and one that was just filling space and time. I realized I was letting the most insignificant part of my life take over my life and become my excuse that I didn’t have time for me.

So now I get it, I understand why people say they don’t have time. I’ve always said, “Of course you do, you just have to prioritize better.” Then I realized, I wasn’t good at doing that myself anymore.

Now when people tell me they don’t have time, I’ll be more understanding. But I’m also going to challenge them to examine what is weighing them down and holding them back.

No matter what your life situation is, what you do, or who is demanding of your time, there will ALWAYS be an excuse. I finally realize that, and now I’m better equipped to help you overcome that excuse because I had to overcome my own.

 

2 thoughts on “The Real Reason There’s No Time For A Workout

  1. Pingback: Can One Hour Change Your Life? I think so. | Personal Training by Jenn

  2. Pingback: Four Things I Needed To Do…And it Can Help You Too | Personal Training by Jenn

Leave a Reply

