Things I Learned From My Children

It’s the end of the school year and I’m feeling a little sentimental. If you know me, you know I’m not a touchy-feely person. I HATE crying. In fact, I pretty much refuse to watch any movie if I think it might make me cry. Sidenote: this is my new rule in life after my husband bought me the movie The Notebook.

I think it’s partly because I see how quickly my Schindlings are growing. Later this year my oldest will be able to learn to drive. My middle daughter is starting to make social plans on her own and my son is leaving elementary school. I see the years flashing before my eyes and I understand my parents better now than ever.

And while I wish a little bit I could just stop time, I think I’m more emotionally charged by what the future holds for the Schindlings. They are examples of what it means to really live life.

My Bubba, Miss Mae and Little Miss Sunshine

My Bubba, Miss Mae and Little Miss Sunshine

My sweet Miss Mae auditions for every play that her high school has. More often than not she doesn’t get ‘the part.’ My heart breaks for her. But her spirit is never broken. She just looks forward to the next opportunity. I admire her courage. I admire her drive. I admire her talent.

My Elle the Belle was nicknamed Sunshine as a baby. She had a smile for everyone. And despite some mean girl middle school stuff she’s had to deal with she still sees the best in people. I admire her kind heart. I admire her grace. I admire her faith that people are good.

And my dear sweet boy Isaiah. This kid doesn’t just only walk to the beat of his own drum, he creates a new drum with a different sound. He’s wicked creative and I admire that. He’s self-motivated and I admire that. He’s comfortable in his own skin and I admire that.

So I’m emotional, I’m teary eyed, I’m excited about the future but I wish I didn’t feel like we were heading into it in fast-forward mode. But if I’m along for this ride then I’m going to take note and learn from the Schindlings…

It’s time for me to be MORE:

  • Courageous
  • Driven
  • True to my talents
  • Kind
  • Graceful
  • Faithful
  • Creative
  • Self-motivated
  • Comfortable in my skin

What life lessons are your ‘Schindlings’ teaching you?

My whole world.

My whole world.

One thought on “Things I Learned From My Children

  1. Pingback: How Becoming A Health Coach Helped Me…Lose My Shirt | Personal Training by Jenn

Leave a Reply

