To keep yourself motivated, your gym should feel like a family.

Earlier this year I decided to put all my eggs in one basket. I know everyone says to not a good idea but in this case it just made sense.

I was teaching and training at 3 different gyms, plus running a small studio space out of my basement for personal training. If someone needed a sub I was the first to respond. While I was doing what I loved, I was starting to dread going to certain gyms and teaching certain classes.

So I did some soul searching and realized, there was one place (aside from my home studio) that I really felt like I belonged…CustomFit.

My relationship with CustomFit started when I first moved to Lombard. A group of my friends and I would drop off our kiddos for school and head to classes at CustomFit with Julianne. Having taught and trained for a few years prior to the move I was so impressed with the classes and Julianne’s ability to increase challenge and/or modify when necessary. I looked forward to every class because I knew I would be pushed but I also looked forward to them because it was an hour that I got to spend with my friends.

Once the Schindlings were settled and I felt like we had our ground in Lombard I decided to get back into teaching and training. I was so eager and excited about getting back to what I loved that I leaped at any chance to pick up a class or sub. I was teaching morning, noon and night with training clients in between. I was exhausted. I was losing my drive and my passion. How does that happen when you’re doing what you love?!

And then I realized it was about the culture. Whether it’s at work or in a social setting you know that ‘person’ who brings the negative energy. Or that ‘person’ you just can’t connect with no matter how hard you try. Or that ‘person’ that makes you feel bad about yourself.

I took a deep breath and looked at my options and realized the place that always brought me positive energy, the pace that I always felt connected, and the place that made me feel the most accepted and confident was CustomFit.

It might sound cliche, but we aren’t a typical gym…and I can’t think of a better way to explain that than by using the words of our own members.

I love how the trainers are willing to help modify the exercises to best suit each person’s abilities. Kate W.

Julianne and I both take the time to get to know our members. We know if you have shoulder issues, or if you need low impact options for cardio. Fitness is not a one-size fits all solution and as a member of CustomFit we recognize and accommodate individual needs.

My experience is that the trainers are really really knowledgeable and the members are all really supportive. Everyone pushes me to work harder without feeling bad about myself. It’s a really positive place. – Gabby L.

Nothing makes me more happy during a class than seeing our members encourage each other – and it happens often! While everyone has their own goals, they take the time to empower others to reach theirs.

Custom Fit is accepting and accommodates to those who are just starting out! Bre M.

Whether you are just dipping your toe in the water to test out being active or have been working out for years, we are there for you. EVERYTHING can be modified to be more challenging or more basic. There is truly something for everyone.

Judgement free and compassionate coaching. Mary S.

We have an unspoken ‘no judgement’ rule. It’s unspoken because it’s never been an issue. We accept each other. We encourage each other. We engage in the journey of fitness with each other. And most of all we celebrate our wins with each other.

Fun environment that is a true family with members and trainers. The trainers help you set goals and care about you achieving them!! Caisey S.

Working out is hard – you’re gonna sweat and you’re gonna do things that challenge you physically and mentally, so why not have some fun while doing it? We are serious about obtaining our goals but we have some serious laughs along the way. Oh, and social events every month! From cookouts to pub crawls to ball games to cooking parties – we connect outside of the gym as well.
Tough workouts with great people. It’s a family. Don S.

I’ll admit – this one was written by my husband. So yes, it’s TRULY family! But I wanted to include it because for a guy who hates cardio, he comes at least one time a week to my kickboxing class and every week he is pushed to new limits. So if you’re wondering, yes, guys come to our classes too!

Positive, encouraging environment. Colleen F.

The member that wrote this worked out with us through her pregnancy (as have a few others). Everyone is at a different stage in their journey – whether you are trying fitness for the first time, or growing your family, or needed to shed some pounds, or wanting to build muscle, or looking to work off the stress from the day, or just needing an hour to yourself – you will be surrounded by other people who have walked or are walking in your shoes and are excited to be on the journey with you.

Accepting of all ages, schedule is accommodating to city commuters….before I moved. Julia C.

We have both morning and evening classes to accommodate your busy schedules! Some of our members can only do early morning, some hit our classes just off the train, while others come after drop off. Whatever your schedule, I’m positive we have a class that will meet your needs. Make the time to join us.

There are countless of other reasons that I want you to come give CustomFit a try but I’ll leave you with this last one…for the month of September we are offering UNLIMITED classes for 50% off and we’ll throw in all of those other benefits for FREE.

customfit-card

Leave a Reply

