How Becoming A Health Coach Helped Me…Lose My Shirt

About 6 years ago I made the decision to become a fitness professional. I’ve taken some detours throughout that time but my heart always led me back to helping others obtain a healthier lifestyle.

Between personal training and group fitness I have worked with a wide variety of people: young and free and those more wise from life experience, athletes and those dealing with injury and pain, dedicated and those who let excuses get in the way, confident and those who struggle to take a compliment, strong and those who only feel weakness…and any combination of these.

I’ve never had someone come to me who didn’t have the foundational knowledge that what they were eating (or not eating) and how much they were moving (or not moving) was the reason they were in their current state.

As a trainer I could advise them in general about nutritional choices and I could certainly give them an unforgettable workout, but I always felt like I didn’t have enough time to truly connect with them about the things holding them back from achieving a healthier lifestyle.

lost-my-shirt

Why didn’t I have the time?

  1. I needed to do some serious work on me to be able to truly connect with others.
  2. I lacked the foundational knowledge to help someone else dig below the surface excuses and obstacles standing in their way.
  3. I felt my true concerns for my clients were inauthentic while telling them to do another 15 burpees.

I don’t know a single person that hasn’t used ‘not enough time’ as an excuse. So I made up my mind to find the time to work on me, to educate myself, and to make time for others.

Not that long ago I was constantly critical of my physical appearance, my parenting skills, and my ability to balance work and home and being successful at both, to name a few. And to some degree I still struggle with these things and many more.

But what I came to realize is these negative thoughts and feelings were cheating me out of truly enjoying life. It was time to take control of my ‘joy.’

So what did I do?

  • I took off my shirt and ran in public in a sports bra without a concern about what others might have to say about my physical appearance
  • I started hugging my Schindlings more and
  • I started being more forgiving of myself and accept that I truly am doing the best I can

 

Part of what helped me be so successful in working on myself was seeking information on personal growth. I read a few great books and I studied to become an ACE certified Health Coach.

I learned about different personality types and how to best connect with them, I developed strategies to help people uncover the unsaid things standing in their way and discovered that my personal growth was a great foundation for helping others.

Since becoming certified I have worked with a few different clients ‘beyond’ the gym walls. We talk about their struggles, we celebrate their successes, we dissect their obstacles and we take great joy in dreaming about the future.

Are you someone who knows exactly what you need to do but still feel like there are things standing in your way?

Do you want to dig deeper to set some goals for achieving a healthier lifestyle?

Do you want strategies for overcoming perceived failures and excuses?

Are you in need of an accountability partner to stay true to your vision?

Let’s talk. My journey may be different, but I can empathize with being on one and I can help you better navigate your own journey.

Give me a call at 574-387-1344 or email me at personaltrainingbyjenn@gmail.com to schedule your first Health Coach appointment.

If you’re interested in reading more about my personal journey here are a few other posts you may like:

Stuck In The Middle

I’m My Own Worst Enemy

Things the Schindlings Taught Me

Dealing with Rejection

Don’t Let Your Mind Bully Your Body

Four Things I Needed to Do

Leave a Reply

