What to do When You’re Stuck in the Middle

This blog post has been rolling over in my head and my heart for a few weeks now. It stems from a song that I’ve listened to on repeat a few times. And each time I hear ‘The Middle” by Jimmy Eat World, I’m struck by how important the message is. It’s simple…but it’s relevant, and it’s something we all need to take in.

“The Middle” By Jimmy Eat World

Hey, don’t write yourself off yet
It’s only in your head you feel left out or looked down on.
Just try your best, try everything you can.
And don’t you worry what they tell themselves when you’re away.

It just takes some time,
Little girl, you’re in the middle of the ride.
Everything, everything will be just fine,
Everything, everything will be alright, alright.

Hey, you know they’re all the same.
You know you’re doing better on your own (on your own), so don’t buy in.
Live right now, yeah, just be yourself.
It doesn’t matter if it’s good enough (good enough) for someone else.

It just takes some time,
Little girl, you’re in the middle of the ride.
Everything, everything will be just fine,
Everything, everything will be alright, alright.
It just takes some time,
Little girl, you’re in the middle of the ride.
Everything, everything will be just fine,
Everything, everything will be alright, alright.

Hey, don’t write yourself off yet.
It’s only in your head you feel left out or looked down on.
Just do your best (just do your best), do everything you can (do everything you can).
And don’t you worry what the bitter hearts are gonna say.

It just takes some time,
Little girl, you’re in the middle of the ride.
Everything, everything will be just fine,
Everything, everything will be alright, alright.
It just takes some time,
Little girl, you’re in the middle of the ride.
Everything, everything will be just fine,
Everything, everything will be alright.

Then last weekend I got some of the worst news I could ever think possible. News that deeply saddened me, made me angry, made me numb, and made me want to pull any person that is dear to me closer.

On Monday night I was teaching the class and ‘The Middle’ came on, bringing tears to my eyes as my heart filled with sadness, anger and love all at the same time.

You see in life we are always going to be in the middle of something.

Maybe it’s the middle of working towards a goal. For me, I’m two half marathons away from my goal. My legs are tired, I’m worn out and though the finish is within sights it’s taking everything I have to put on my running shoes and do another 13.1.

Maybe it’s that sort of middle where you just feel stuck. Even though you are working hard and doing all the right things, nothing is changing. It’s like running into the wind – the effort is there but you don’t feel like there’s any forward progress.

Maybe it’s a middle that’s so low you can’t see the beginning or the end. I’ve been there. Overanalyzed decisions that got me to the terrible middle and left desperate for a solution that would help me climb out of that place.

The thing is no matter what ‘middle’ you’re in right now I guarantee there is someone else in your life in that same middle. Don’t take on your ‘middle’ alone.

Know this…

We’re far more quick to write ourselves off than others will. Stop being your worst enemy. Talk about your struggles with those you trust and accept the encouragement they will give you.

Get out of your head. We all have negative self talk – silence it by soliciting positivity from those who love you.

Try your best. Doing your best doesn’t mean being perfect, it means staring down the challenge and knowing that in the end you couldn’t have given any more. Don’t sit on the sidelines for fear of failing, the biggest failures in life are when you don’t even try.

Try everything you can. You never know what you’re capable of until you try. Take risks. Will you fall down? Sure! Will you be disappointed sometimes or heartbroken? Absolutely. But get out there and live life and take those chances, because that is exactly what is going to sometimes pull you out of the middle.

Don’t worry about the opinions of others. Be free to live a life that is true to yourself. We only get to do this once, why waste your time consumed by what others say?

Be the best you possible. Here’s what I tell my Schindlings all the time, ‘You be you. Worry about yourself and just be YOU.’ We are all uniquely and wonderfully made, be concerned with making yourself the best version of you and don’t bother to compare yourself to anyone else.

Remember, we’re all in the middle and it’s gonna be all right. Some stages of being in the middle might seem like the end of the world but it’s not. Chin up, cry when you need to, be angry when you have to, but don’t allow yourself to give up. If you need help ask for it, if you need a hug give one, if you feel alone know that you aren’t.

I’m not sure what your middle is right now. But here are just a few of mine…

  • I’m in the middle of grieving
  • I’m in the middle of achieving a big goal and paralyzed by the thought of setting the next one
  • I’m in the middle of trying to establish myself as a fitness professional and build a business
  • I’m in the middle of navigating how to best parent my Schindlings
  • I’m in the middle developing friendships and cultivating others
  • I’m in the middle of discovering what it means to continue having a meaningful connection with my husband
  • I’m in the middle of my faith journey

No matter your ‘middle’ know you are loved and a true blessing to more people than you can possibly know.

One thought on “What to do When You’re Stuck in the Middle

  1. Pingback: How Becoming A Health Coach Helped Me…Lose My Shirt | Personal Training by Jenn

Leave a Reply

